‘The Illusionists’ Announce Hourlong Blockbuster Family Event for NBC

The Illusionists

One of the hottest shows on Broadway is making its way to TV as “The Illusionists” bring their unique brand of magic with a one-hour special scheduled for Wednesday, Dec. 9 at 10 p.m. on NBC.

This mind-blowing spectacular, recently filmed at the Orpheum Theater in Los Angeles and executive produced by John Irwin and Simon Painter, features the jaw-dropping talents of seven of the most incredible illusionists in the world. The stage production has shattered box office records across the globe and dazzled audiences of all ages with a powerful mix of the most outrageous and astonishing acts ever to be seen on stage. This non-stop show is packed with thrilling and sophisticated magic of unprecedented proportions.

Broadway audiences have witnessed stunning acts of grand illusion, levitation, mind-reading, disappearance and, for the first time ever in history, a full-view water torture escape. Performed by the acclaimed escapologist Andrew Basso, he holds his breath for over four minutes while attempting to escape from his underwater cell. This group of world-class performers take their cue from the showmanship of the great illusionists of the past — such as Harry Houdini — and pair it with a new and updated contemporary aesthetic, whose set and costume design lend the genre a theatricality and artistry that has rarely been seen before. Collectively, these performers have been seen by millions of people around the world and the stage production showcased their incredible talents together on stage for the very first time.

“The Illusionists — Live on Broadway” broke box office records when it made its debut last year and is currently back on the Great White Way at the Neil Simon Theatre for a limited engagement.

The Illusionists are comprised of Jeff Hobson (“The Trickster”), Andrew Basso (“The Escapologist”), Yu Ho-Jin (“The Manipulator”), Kevin James (“The Inventor”), Adam Trent (“The Futurist”), Jonathan Goodwin (“The Daredevil”) and Dan Sperry (“The Anti-Conjuror”).